Skip to content

Contact Us

Department Head
Russell Moody

Monday – Friday
8:00am – 5:00pm

Building & Zoning Department

The Mitchell County Building and Zoning Department is responsible for the issuance of building permits and manufactured home location permits, as well as the inspection of manufactured homes that have been set up.  This department also issues business licenses.  It enforces zoning, governs subdivision/land division regulations, and offers assistance with rezoning.  FEMA flood map assistance is also available. This department includes code enforcement for Mitchell County.  For a list of current county ordinances, visit Mitchell County Code of Ordinances.


The Planning and Zoning Board meets on the 3rd Thursday of each month at 7:00 pm.  Meetings are held at the Mitchell County Governmental Complex at 5201 US Highway 19 S, Camilla, GA.

Department Staff

Russell Moody — Department Head

Terrie Swain — Administrative Assistant

Mitchell County requires that structures must be built to the International Building Codes.  A Georgia State License is required for a contractor, electrical, plumbing, and mechanical work unless the homeowner is performing the work on their own single-family dwelling (the homeowner will be required to sign a liability waiver).  The owner or builder has to apply for permits with the Mitchell County Building and Zoning Department and pay all required fees.

Mitchell County Planning and Zoning Board

Ann Bryant
Susan Clayton
Mike Mitchell
Joseph Rackley
Ralph Davis, Jr.
Ralph Collins, III
Terry Curles
Richard Beasley
Daniel Morrell
Andy Collins

Department Fees & Documents

Department Location

5201 S. US Hwy 19
Camilla, Ga 31730