Mitchell County Probate Court
Robert C. Richardson, Jr., Probate Judge
11 West Broad Street, Room 102
P.O. Box 229
Camilla, GA 31730
Click here to email
• Birth Certificates
• Death Certificates
• Marriage Licenses and Records
• Issue Firearms License
• Perform Marriages
• Issue Fireworks Permits
• Issue Residency Statements
• Livestock Marks and Brands
• Administration (permanent, temporary, or no administration)
• Adults (person and property)
• Emergency (temporary, permanent, incapacitated adults, and minors)
• County, State, Federal
• Election Results, Provisional Ballots Cast
Mitchell County Law Library:
Robert C. Richardson, Jr., Treasurer, Secretary
Probate Attorneys are responsible for fully completing any Probate procedure filed.
NO FAX fillings are accepted.
• Filling fees must be received at filing
• Any procedures requiring sheriff’s involvement a fee is due in advance
• Attorneys must provide court with stamped addressed envelopes
• Expenses incurred by the court for certified mailing, etc. will be charges to the estate
• All hearings will be scheduled at a later date
• Same rules apply as in estates
• Court will make arrangements for doctor’s evaluation and notify the attorney of the specifics such as address, date, and time of appointment.
• Effective July 1st, 2003 Blood Test are NO longer required
• Probate Judge will perform marriage ceremonies at no charge and appointments are preferred during regular business hours.
• Applicants 18 and over- ID is required
Court will accept:
• Certified copy of birth certificate with seal
• Valid Georgia Driver’s License
• Valid Georgia ID card issued by the Georgia Department of Motor Vehicle
• Valid out of state driver’s license
• Valid out of state ID card issued by the DMV
• Current military ID with photo with either
• Original issue Social Security Card (defaced, metal, or laminated not accepted)
• Print out from the Social Security Administration
If previously married:
• Divorced must have a certified copy of the last divorce decree signed by the judge.
• Deceased must have a certified copy of Death Certificate (copies not accepted).
Applicants under 18:
• Must be at least 18 years of age without parental consent
• OR Must be at least 16 years of age with both parents, or the legal guardian(s) consent.
• AND Must have a birth certificate issued within 45 days of application. (No exceptions)
• Parents are married – Both parents must personally appear with proper photo ID.
• Parents are Divorced – Both parents must give consent regardless of custodial parent status.
Parents never married
• Child never legitimated – Only mother's consent required with birth certificate issued in the last 45 days.
• Child legitimated – Both parents must give parental consent.
• Legal guardian(s) – May give consent with proof of guardianship and photo ID.
NOTE: Parent(s)/ Guardian unable to personally appear in court due to illness or infirmity may submit a notarized affidavit AND a notarized affidavit from the attending physician along with photo ID. All documents must be in English. Translations are available from the INS of birth certificates etc.
• Must be at least 21 years old
• Must be a resident of Mitchell County to apply locally
• Must provide picture ID (Driver’s License or State Issued ID)
• Must not be on probation for any offense
• Must agree to criminal history background check
• Applicant must not have any disqualifications to receive license
Procedure to obtain license:
• Applicant must appear personally at the Probate Court Office to complete application
• $74.25 application fee must be paid at the time of application
• The application fee may be paid by cash, money order, or personal check.
(Any personal check received that is not valid will result in the revocation of the license.)
Note: No refunds will be issued once the application process has been initiated.
• Must complete application at the Probate Court Office then obtain the criminal history background check from the Mitchell County Justice Center.
• After the background check has been completed the Mitchell County Justice Center will return the application to the Probate Court for further review. The court will mail eligible applicants the license.
• Pending Criminal Charges -Any person who is fugitive from justice or whom proceedings are pending for any felony, forcible misdemeanor. Or violations of Code Sections 16-11 ~126 (carrying a concealed weapon), 16-11-127 (carrying a deadly weapon to or at public gatherings), or 16-11-128 (carrying pistol without a license) is ineligible to receive a license until such time as the proceedings are adjudicated.
• Felony Conviction(s) -Any person convicted of or placed on probation as a first offender for a felony offense by a proper court is ineligible to receive a license, unless the person has (1) received a pardon which expressly authorizes the receipt, possession or transport of a firearm, (2) received from the Board of Public Safety relief from disabilities, or (3) been discharged from the first offender probation without adjudication of guilt. The pardon, relief or discharge must be exhibited to the Court. The applicant must have been free of supervision for not less than five years for non-forcible felony convictions or not less than ten years for forcible felony convictions.
• Drug Convictions -Any person who has been "convicted" of any offense arising out of the unlawful manufacture, distribution, possession or use of a controlled substance or dangerous drug is ineligible to receive a license, unless that person has been pardoned. Note: for purposes of drug offenses only, "conviction" includes a plea of guilty, a finding of guilt by a court of competent jurisdiction, the acceptance of a plea of nolo contendere, or the affording of first offender treatment. This includes a person that has completed first offender probation and been discharged without adjudication of guilt for an offense involving illegal drugs. Only a pardon is sufficient to grant eligibility to a person with a drug conviction.
• Misdemeanor Conviction -Any person who has been convicted of a forcible misdemeanor is ineligible to receive a license until the person has been free of restraint or supervision for at least five years.
• Other Convictions -Any person who has been convicted of an offense under Code Sections 16-11-126 (carrying a concealed weapon), 16-11-127 (carrying deadly weapon to or at public gatherings), 16-11-128 (carrying pistol without a license) is ineligible to receive a license until the person has been free of restraint or supervision for at least three years.
• Mental Health Hospitalization -Any person who has been hospitalized as an inpatient in any mental hospital or alcohol or drug treatment center within five years prior to the date of the application is ineligible to receive a license, unless the Judge, in his discretion, issues the license after consideration of the circumstances surrounding the hospitalization and any recommendation by the superintendent of the hospital or treatment center where applicant was a patient.
Further, under the Gun Control Act... Any person who has been convicted of a misdemeanor crime of domestic violence is ineligible to receive a license, unless the person has received a pardon or relief from disabilities.